Top Menu

GRIP Explores The Duality Of a Mortal Man in Thought- Provoking Visuals For "Momma Told Me!"


Records latest signee GRIP is pushing the limits of storytelling with plenty of rhyme and reason with his latest single, “Momma Told Me!"

Watch Below:


In visuals directed by Caleb Seales (Playboi Carti, JID), the musician takes on the role of a preacher motivated by the paper God, the yak and the temptresses three elements that cloud his judgment. It’s a tricky position to be in as he’s widely adored by his followers who absorb every word he says as gospel.

While the duality of the role questions the relationship between good and evil, GRIP’s lethal lyricism provides some answers and pushes listeners to find the beauty beneath the sinful chaos around us with glowing confidence. “Momma Told Me!” follows his Shady Records’ debut distorted banger “Gutter” featuring Atlanta’s Wara.

GRIP’s debut album I Died For This?! Features guest appearances from Eminem, Royce 5’9 and more. When it comes to the album’s process, GRIP’s LP poses uncertainty (with the ?) and confidence (with the !) attached to monumental moments in Grip’s life. The ethos explains how in order to evolve, one must mourn parts of us that die along the way. “I sacrificed a lot, took a lot of L’s, lost a lot of shit, lost loved ones, lost quality time with my kids,” he says. “I’m not the same person I was when I began pursuing this.” The first single, “Gutter!” is a self-explanatory manifesto, while “Mama Told Me!” is a confident flex about reaching new heights in his career. Other tracks pose the question of “is this all worth it?” The release of I Died For This!? will be punctuated with visuals, each depicting different elements of Grip, while still keeping him ambiguous.

GRIP is leading the next generation of keen and thoughtful storytelling in rap. After the release of 2020 projects Halo and PROBOSCIDEA, GRIP earned a spot on Shady Records in July and recently released his debut track “Gutter” under the label boasting the likes of Westside Boogie plus recent Shady alumni, Griselda’s Westside Gunn and Conway the Machine. Label President Paul Rosenberg says, “Grip is the type of artist that brings you into his world and expresses himself through a complete composed body of work. If true album artists in this era are a rare breed- then Grip is a unicorn! We’re excited for him to join the Shady Records family”.



I Died For This!? Tracklisting   
  1. Enter Stage Right  
  1. And The Eulogy Read!? Ft. Wiley from Atlanta  
  1. Hands Up!  
  1. IDFT!?  
  1. Momma Told Me!  
  1. Placebo ft Royce Da 5’9  
  1. Gutter! ft. Wara  
  1. JDDTTINT!? ft Dead Cassettes  
  1. A Soldier’s Story?  
  1. Walkthrough! ft Eminem  
  1. The Lox! ft. Tate228  
  1. Enem3? ft Big Rube  
  1. ConMan?  
  1. Glenwood Freestyle!  
  1. At What Cost?  
  1. Patterns?  
  1. Pennies….Exit Stage Left!? ft. Kaynellz & Kenny Mason  
GRIP’s “Momma Told Me!” eSingle  
Follow GRIP:

Post a Comment

Copyright © Designed by Farez