Top Menu

S.O. - "Augustine’s Legacy" Album | @SOthekid

S.O.’s “Augustine’s Legacy” Out TODAY

Album Encompasses Hip Hop, Emo Rap and Afrobeat 

Upcoming Performances In San Antonio, Long Beach and Houston

Hip Hop artist S.O. releases his fifth album, “Augustine’s Legacy,” today Sept. 6 on Lamp Mode Recordings. The album features the thought-provoking lead up singles, the social media commentary “Goals” and controversial “White Jesus” that have sparked engaging online discussions and presented visual masterpieces. The response from media has been great with recent interviews with Rapzilla and podcasts Pass The Mic, Black Berea, Da Fixx Radio Show, among others.

“Augustine’s Legacy” displays the talented Nigerian-born, UK-raised and San Antonio-based emcee’s varied artistic stylings. Afrobeat rhythms back “OPA!,” “Open Arms” and “Goals.” His Hip Hop chops shine on the title track and “White Jesus.” He offers dosages of his signature emo rap on “London Nights,” “The Only One” and “No Rewards.” The heartwarming “Headwrap Diaries” is a beautiful serenade, acknowledging deeper symbolism behind the adornment. And, “I See My Giants,” will bless the masses. While S.O.’s longtime producer GP handles most of the production, “Augustine’s Legacy” also includes contributions from OnBeatMusic and Alex Hitchens and vocals from Mallory Jackson and Lucy Grimble.

S.O. has a number of upcoming performances. Experience the S.O. Presents “Augustine’s Legacy” Pop Up Shop: San Antonio this Sat., Sept. 7 from  7 - 10 p.m. at The Movement Gallery at 1412 E. Commerce St., San Antonio, TX. Click here to RSVP for the free event. On Sat., Sept. 14 at 7 p.m., S.O. will perform at the Colony of Light Launch Party at the Gina M. Woodruff Gallery, 5555 E. Stearns St. in Long Beach, CA. Click here to purchase tickets. The “Augustine’s Legacy” Album Release Party: Houston will take place Sat., Sept. 28 from 7 - 10 p.m. at IV God’s Glory Christian Streetwear Shop, 7629 Harrisburg Boulevard Houston, TX. Visit the Eventbrite page to purchase tickets.

“Augustine’s Legacy” marks S.O.’s fifth set, his first since moving to America. The 12-song project is named after and pays homage to his late father Augustine Otukpe. He explains the title to New Release Today: "On the anniversary of my dad's passing, I put something on Instagram with the hashtag #AugustinesSon, and my wife did something, but she put #AugustinesLegacy, and I'm like, 'Babe, that's fire! That's the album title,'" he says. "We're all leaving a legacy. What's your legacy going to be when you pass? Thankfully, I have a good memory of my dad, so I want to continue his name."

Augustine’s Legacy Tracklisting:

  1. “Augustine’s Legacy”
  2. “London Nights”
  3. “No Rewards”
  4. “I See the Giants”
  5. “White Jesus”
  6. “The Only One” ft. Mallory Jackson
  7. “Long Time”
  8. “Goals” ft. Lucy Grimble
  9. “Headwrap Diaries”
  10. “OPA!”
  11. “Open Arms”
  12. “Boast”


S.O.’s first recollections of rhyming date back to age six, when he rapped about his love for his grandmother at her party. As a pre-teen, he developed his craft reciting Will Smith’s “Wild Wild West” in a talent show and battle rapping with friends in secondary school. His passion evolved with the release of his 2009 mixtape “5 Solas” that created a buzz in the Christian hip hop scene and caught the ears of executives at Lamp Mode, who made him their first international signing. With Lamp Mode, he also released the trilogy “So It Begins” (2011), “So It Continues” (2012) and “So It Ends” (2015). He’s accumulated 23 million streams and received a number of accolades, including being a Premiere Gospel Award nominee (2016), Mobo Award nominee (2016), impacting the UK Official Charts and Billboard’s Heatseekers and Christian Album charts.


Social Media

Post a Comment

Copyright © Designed by Farez